Skip to content
Company Logo
About the Quality Standards

About the Quality Standards

The Regulations set out standards ("the Quality Standards") that must be met by homes. The Quality Standards describe outcomes that each child must be supported to achieve while living in the children's home. Each contains an over-arching, aspirational, child-focused outcome statement, followed by a non-exhaustive set of underpinning, measurable requirements that homes must achieve in meeting each standard.

The Regulations prescribe nine Quality Standards which must be met by children’s homes:

  1. The Quality and Purpose of Care Standard (see regulation 6);
  2. The Children’s Views, Wishes and Feelings Standard (see regulation 7);
  3. The Education Standard (see regulation 8);
  4. The Enjoyment and Achievement Standard (see regulation 9);
  5. The Health and Well-being Standard (see regulation 10);
  6. The Positive Relationships Standard (see regulation 11);
  7. The Protection of Children Standard (see regulation 12);
  8. The Leadership and Management Standard (see regulation 13);
  9. The Care Planning Standard (see regulation 14).

Collectively these nine standards are the Quality Standards. They are referred to individually in this Guide as "the education standard", and so on.

Regulation 5 is overarching; meaning is it relevant across all the Quality Standards. It sets out the requirement that children's homes must seek to work with those in the wider system to ensure that each child's needs are met.

The Quality Standards contained within the Children's Homes Regulations, should not be confused with quality standards developed by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Quality standards prepared by NICE are provided for by the Health and Social Care Act 2012. The Secretary of State and NHS England (The National Health Service Commissioning Board) must have regard to quality standards prepared by NICE in discharging their respective duties as to improvement in the quality of services provided in the health service.

The NICE, Quality standards for the health and wellbeing of looked-after children and young people define best practice in health and wellbeing for looked after children from birth to 18 years and care leavers. They apply to all settings and services working with and caring for looked-after children and young people, and care leavers. The NICE quality standards will have relevance across the Quality Standards set out in the Children's Homes Regulations.

Last Updated: February 9, 2022